Crispy Oven Baked Zucchini Sticks

Home on a Friday night enjoying alone time in my lovely tri-level home. It is so fun to hide out on the third floor watching a good movie. In this case, it was the hundredth time I watched ‘Yes Man’, as I just cannot get enough of the film. It is just soooo funny!  Anyway, after eating yummy leftovers of peanut-chili noodles for dinner, I had a case of the movie munchies. I am not a popcorn lover or a person with a sweet tooth, so I started thinking about a light snack.  I came up with crispy oven baked zucchini sticks. I took a recipe I found and altered it to my liking. The results are delicious with a required marinara sauce. Snack guilt free while watching your movie!

Note: The sticks will not get crunchy as if you were frying them, but of course frying is as bad as a four letter word, so just enjoy the light crispy layer on the zucchini. The thinner you slice the sticks, the crispier they will get.

Ingredients

Canola cooking spray
1 cup unbleached white whole wheat flour*
2 tablespoons masa corn flour**
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
1 1/2 pounds zucchini, (about 3 medium), cut into 1/2-by-3-inch sticks
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 cups organic marinara sauce

Preparation

  • Preheat oven to 475°F. Coat a large baking sheet with cooking spray.
  • Combine flour, cornmeal, salt and pepper in a large sealable plastic bag. Dip zucchini in egg, shake in the bag to coat, and arrange, not touching, on the baking sheet. Coat all exposed sides with cooking spray.
  • Bake on the center rack for 10 minutes. Turn the zucchini and coat any floury spots with cooking spray. Continue to bake until golden and just tender, about 10 to 15 minutes more.
  • Serve hot with marinara sauce.

*You can substitute 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose flour.
**You can substitute cornmeal.

Servings:  4 servings.
Calories: About 170 per serving (excluding marinara sauce).

