Fresh Basil and Tomato Pizza

I have done really well lately, as the recipes I am trying and/or developing have often made my favorites list. Well, this too, is now a favorite, as the aroma of it cooking in my oven was just as awesome as the taste. The key to this pizza is fresh ingredients. Purchase fresh wheat pizza dough and vegetables from your local farmers market. In my case, I picked fresh basil from the plant we have growing in our window. This was a major hit with my family, as I also made it at my sister’s house. Everyone raved at how tasty this was!

Ingredients

1/4 cup wheat flour
8 oz wheat pizza dough
1 tablespoon yellow cornmeal
2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
3 oz  shredded mozzarella
1 Roma tomato, cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices
2 oz freshly grated Parmesan
2 large garlic cloves, minced
6 large basil leaves

Preparation
  • Roll dough sprinkled with flour into a 10 to 11-inch-diameter circle.
  • Preheat oven to 425°F. Sprinkle cornmeal over pizza pan. Transfer dough to pan.
  • Drizzle oil over dough. Sprinkle the mozzarella over dough.
  • Arrange the tomato slices in a single layer over the cheese. Sprinkle with Parmesan.
  • Arrange basil leaves on top and sprinkle garlic all over.
  • Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until the crust is crisp and the cheese is melted on top.
  • Cut into 8 wedges and serve immediately.

Servings:  8 slices.
Calories: About 190 per serving.