Lighter PF Chang’s Lettuce Wraps

Because I have become a foodie and enjoy cooking at home, where I know what ingredients are in my food, I decided to try to make a popular restaurant dish. For years I have been in love with PF Chang’s restaurant, but with my need to maintain good cholesterol and a healthy blood pressure rating, I had to reduce my attendance at PF Chang’s to only a few times a year. While doing what is good for my health is right, I could not seem to get out of my head how yummy their cuisine is. So, I searched and found the recipe for their famous lettuce wraps. I was so excited and while I was making the wraps, I reduced the amount of oil, substituted peanut oil for better flavor, and used reduced sodium soy sauce. The wraps were delicious!  This recipe is one of my personal favorites.

Ingredients

2 tablespoons peanut oil*
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts (1 pound)
8 oz water chestnuts
2/3 cup mushroom
3 tablespoons chopped onions
1 teaspoon minced garlic
12 leaves iceberg lettuce

Special Sauce
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
2 tablespoons ketchup
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice (1/2 lemon)
1/8 teaspoon sesame oil
2 teaspoons chili garlic sauce (optional for spice)

Stir Fry Sauce
2 tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon rice wine vinegar

Preparation  
  • Make the special sauce by dissolving the brown sugar in water in a small bowl.
  • Add soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, ketchup, lemon juice, sesame oil, hot mustard, and chili garlic sauce.
  • Mix well and refrigerate sauce until you’re ready to serve.
  • Heat 1 Tbsp oil over high heat in a wok or large frying pan.
  • Reduce heat to medium-high heat and saute chicken breasts for 4 to 5 minutes per side or until done.
  • Remove chicken from the pan. Place chicken on a plate or platter lined with paper towels to drain and cool.
  • Keep oil in the pan.
  • As chicken cools mince water chestnuts (rinse after removing from can and then mince) and mushrooms to about the size of small peas.
  • Prepare the stir fry sauce by mixing the soy sauce, brown sugar, and rice vinegar together in a small bowl.
  • When chicken is cool, mince it as the mushrooms and water chestnuts are.
  • Reheat the same pan on high heat, add 1 Tbsp of oil.
  • Add chicken, garlic, onions, water chestnuts and mushrooms to the pan.
  • Add the stir fry sauce to the pan and saute the mixture for a couple minutes. Serve in lettuce cups.
  • Top with Special Sauce.

*You can use vegetable oil as well. We like the flavor of peanut oil for Asian dishes, as it has the same calories as vegetable oil.

Servings:  4 servings
Calories: About 300 per serving.

