Orange Oatmeal

Yesterday I went to one of my favorite places, the farmer’s market and bought a bunch of oranges. It was a better deal to buy a bag of oranges, which was way more than I needed for the shrimp recipe I am making this week. I mean, who does not like oranges? I love oranges, so this morning I decided I wanted orange flavor in my oatmeal. I looked up the  following quick, easy recipe and was changed. I will never eat plain oatmeal again. Super yummy and will remain a staple for breakfast. We topped our oatmeal with strawberries, but you can top it with anything you like. The oatmeal is so good, that you do not have to top it with anything at all.

Ingredients

1 cup water
3/4 cup orange juice, preferably freshly squeezed
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup rolled oats
1/4 teaspoon grated orange peel
3 tablespoons brown sugar

Preparation

  • In a small saucepan, bring the water, orange juice and salt to a boil.
  • Stir in oats and cook for 1 to 5 minutes, until oatmeal reaches desired consistency.
  • Stir in orange peel. Serve with brown sugar. Add 1 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar to each serving.
  • Top with additional fruit, if you like.

Servings:  2 servings.
Calories: About 200 per serving.

Original recipe cited from Tasteofhome.com