Peanut Teriyaki Shrimp Noodles

While I did not have to cook, because I have ample leftovers in my fridge, I just wanted to so I could release the stress from work. I work with great people but every once in awhile the demand of overseas deadlines can get to me. It’s budget season and all you accounting and finance folks totally can sympathize with my many hours of seasonal work. With this recipe, I decided to combine a few ideas I had and the following is a great recipe which is now a favorite in my book and gets a gold star. Awesome dish because it savors peanut and teriyaki flavors with fresh shrimp. I topped udon noodles, a Japanese wheat noodle, with the peanut teriyaki sauce and it was so on point. If you do not have udon noodles you can easily use wheat spaghetti.  I am just madly in love with udon noodles because I do not feel as full when eating them, as I do with traditional pasta. Such a major plus!

Ingredients

1/4 cup light soy sauce
2 tablespoons dry sherry
2 tablespoons shallots, finely chopped
2 tablespoons garlic, finely chopped, divided
1 1/2 tablespoons light brown sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons ginger, finely chopped
1 tablespoon hot water
3 tablespoons natural, creamy peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon chili garlic sauce
8 ounces udon noodles or wheat spaghetti
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 pound peeled and deveined large shrimp
2 cups snow peas
2 teaspoons sesame seeds

Preparation

  • To make the sauce, in a small saucepan, combine light soy sauce, dry sherry, shallots, 1 tablespoon garlic, brown sugar, and ginger.
  • Bring to boil for three minutes, stirring occasionally.  While still in saucepan, set aside for 30 minutes at room temperature.
  • Cook udon noodles according to package.  Drain and set aside.
  • Add to saucepan with cooled sauce, hot water, peanut butter, and chili garlic sauce. Mix together over medium-high heat till peanut butter is fully blended.
  • Heat the sesame oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add remaining garlic, and sauté 1 minute. Add 1 teaspoon sesame seeds and shrimp. Sauté for 2 minutes or until shrimp are almost done. Add peanut teriyaki sauce, and cook for 2 minutes. Add snow peas. Cook for 2 minutes or until snow peas are slightly softened, stirring well.  Remove from heat.
  • Stir in udon noodles and serve. Sprinkle with remaining sesame seeds for garnish.

Servings: 4 servings.
Calories: About 450.