Rosemary Tuna Melt

I saw this recipe on a TV show, but it was for mini appetizers.  My mouth was watering when I saw the host cook it, so I decided to make full sandwiches and toast on my George Forman grill, which makes awesome Paninis. I also used fresh wheat sour dough bread to make it off the charts yummy. This was one of the best lunches I have had in awhile. I gobbled this up at work with a side of fresh fruit. I will make this many times over

Ingredients

4, 5 to 6 oz cans tuna in olive oil, lightly drained
1 shallot, finely chopped
1 large sprig rosemary, leaves stripped and finely chopped
Black pepper, to taste
4 slices provolone cheese, deli sliced
8 slices wheat or white sour dough bread
Spray canola or vegetable oil

Preparation

  • Mash tuna with finely chopped shallot, rosemary, and black pepper.
  • Build sandwiches of bread, cheese, tuna, cheese, bread.
  • Spray both sides of the sandwich with oil.
  • Brown sandwiches until golden on George Foreman Grill or Panini Grill . Remove and serve. 

Servings: 4 servings.
Calories: About 430.

Original recipe cited from Foodnetwork.com, Rachael Ray, 2008.