Tarragon Butter

I purchased fresh rosemary, thyme, chives, and tarragon last week.  I do not grow these herbs in my home like I do basil and Italian parsley, so I often purchase in bundles from the market. Once I cook with these herbs, I sometimes have much left over, as I get a nice bundle of each herb for only a $1. What a deal for so much flavor!  Fresh herbs can tend to dry out within a week after purchasing, so I try to find alternative ways to get full use out of them.  For the rosemary, I made Rosemary Tuna Melts and whipped up rosemary wheat bread sticks. For the thyme, I made Mustard Pork Loin Chops and biscuits. I made a few other recipes but still had some chives and tarragon left over and did not want to waste them. I decided to make a herb butter. Often people buy herbed butters and cheeses, but why buy when you can make at home yourself without preservatives?  This recipe for tarragon butter is fantastic and a favorite of mine. Just today, I grilled a piece of fish and topped it and green beans with this butter. The best thing is this butter lasts months so I can top anything I like with it, including, beef, chicken, bread, or veggies.  Butter might be high in saturated fat, but using in moderation and in small amounts complimented with herbs provides some of the most flavorful dishes. I truely think this is why the French love butter so much.

Ingredients

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 Tbsp fresh tarragon, minced
1 tsp fresh chives, minced
1 garlic clove, pressed
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper

Preparation

In a mortal and pestle, combine all the ingredients. Place in a sealed containted and store in the refrigerator.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 8 (1/2 Tbsp is a serving)
Serving size: 1/8 of recipe (0.6 ounces)
Calories 103.23

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat 101.32  98%
Total Fat 11.52g  18%
Saturated Fat 7.29g  26%

