Buttery Tarragon Green Beans

Fresh vegetables steamed are the best because they retain all their nutrients.  I did not used to be a big fan of steamed veggies because every time I ate steamed veggies at a restaurant, the veggies were bland. But I have discovered adding fresh herbs to veggies makes me happy and I have been rollin’ with it ever since. I receive two benefits when eating steamed veggies: (1) Vitamins (2) Bold flavor.  Recently, I made Tarragon Butter, which is a bold blend of tarragon, chives, and garlic combined with butter.  To create tasty green beans to go with my Five-Spice Roasted Chicken, I simply steamed the beans and topped with the Tarragon butter.  This is a very simple, but full of flavor recipe.  The beans have a gourmet flavor, which will impress your dinner guests.  Making the butter ahead is a great idea for this recipe and other uses, because the butter will keep for months.

Ingredients 

1 pound fresh green beans, ends trimmed and cut in half
Tarragon Butter

Preparation

    Rinse beans and drain.

    Bring 1 1/2 cups of water to a boil.  Place steamer basket on top of water, and make sure the water is not touching the bottom of the basket and only steam is coming through.

    Place beans in basket. Place lid on basket.

    Steam for 25 minutes.

    Serve each plate topped with 1 Tbsp Tarragon butter.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (5.1 ounces)
Calories 241.61

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat 204.72  85%
Total Fat 23.30g  36%
Saturated Fat 14.64g  73%

