Mussels in Tomato Basil Broth

I like to order mussels when eating out, as it is often a good healthy option at most restaurants. But some restaurants cook the mussels in tons of fattening butter, which while yummy, it is not so good on my heart. So, I searched for a recipe that was healthier, and where I could really enjoy the healthy benefits of mussels. I did not have to look far, as this perfect recipe was in a cook book on my shelf written by Dave Lieberman from the Food Network. I watch so much of the Food Network and Cooking Channel, that I knew this recipe would not disappoint…and boy was I right!  The top-notch flavor was so good, you would have thought I was eating at a fancy bistro.  The only things I changed in the recipe was I added a full tablespoon of pepper flakes and used chopped tomatoes. I like a little heat in my meals, which is why I added more flakes. Also, I chose chopped tomatoes so they would scoop up better in the mussel shells. Perfect Saturday night dinner!  I will make this many times over, as it is now on my list of favorites.

Ingredients

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
8 to 10 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 28 ounce can chopped tomatoes
1 cup dry white wine, like chardonnay
1 cup water
1 tablespoon hot red pepper flakes
Salt, to taste
2 pounds mussels, scrubbed and debearded
A big handful of roughly chopped fresh basil
Crusty bread (optional)

 Preparation  

  • Heat oil over high heat in a pot large enough to hold mussels comfortably.
  • Add garlic and cook just until you can smell it, about 30 seconds. Pour in tomatoes, wine and water. Add red pepper flakes and a big pinch salt.
  • Bring to a boil and cook until broth is slightly thickened, 10 to 15 minutes.
  • Stir mussels into broth, cover pot and cook until mussels open, 4 to 5 minutes. Throw in basil and give a good stir.
  • Carefully, so that you don’t splash tomato all over the place, ladle mussels into serving dishes.
  • Serve with bread.

Servings: 2.

Calories: About 430 per serving, excluding bread.

Original recipe cited from Foodnetwork.com, Dave Lieberman.

