Balsamic Sesame Soy Glazed Chicken

Chicken is one of the best, most affordable meals out there, which is why I love chicken and am constantly trying to find ways to reinvent it. Well, I came up with this delicious sweet glaze to pour over chicken breasts.  I am always watching my calories, so I typically buy skinless chicken breast, as the skin contains fat, but with this recipe, I changed my tune. Buying chicken breast with the skin on and bone in provides a moister chicken breast. The trick is to remove the skin after it is cooked to keep the flavor but not eat the fat.  I fell in love with this recipe and will make many times over.  You can also toss this sauce over cooked chicken wings as well, but wings of course have more calories, so I stick to the chicken breasts.  

Ingredients

4 pounds chicken breast, with skin
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 tablespoon black pepper
3/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1/4 teaspoon sesame oil
1/4 cup soy sauce, reduced sodium
3 teaspoons brown sugar
4 cloves garlic, pressed

 Preparation  

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Wash chicken and pat dry. Place in a shallow baking pan.  Massage the chicken with olive oil,  salt, and pepper. Bake in oven for 1 hour to 1 hour and 30 minutes.  Once chicken is done, let slightly cool and remove skin.
  • While chicken cooks, simmer vinegar, sesame oil, soy sauce, sugar, and garlic in a small heavy sauce pan. Still occasionally, until reduced to about 1/3 cup for about 12-15 minutes.
  • Remove from heat. Let slightly cool to thicken and drizzle over chicken.

Servings: 4.

Calories: About 450 per serving.

