Broccoli with Soy Sauce

Growing up my mom used to stir fry broccoli, my favorite vegetable, with soy sauce. We used to eat it a lot with chicken and beef but as I became an adult, I completely forgot about it. Well, I bought this really nice cook book and while thumbing through I found a recipe similar to mom’s. I altered it a little for those of us who cannot have too much sodium but want to keep top flavor, so it still tastes just like mom used to make. Very few ingredients and a quick side dish.

Ingredients

1 tablespoon olive oil
8 ounces broccoli florets
2 tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce
garlic salt
black pepper
1 tablespoon toasted sesame seeds

Preparation   

  •  Heat oil in a wok or large frying pan and add broccoli. Stir fry for 3-4 minutes, or until tender; adding a splash of water if the pan becomes too dry.
  • Add the soy sauce to the broccoli, and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Add sesame seeds, toss to combine and serve immediately.

Servings: 2

Calories: about 70 per serving.

