Pork Pho

When I lived in NYC, I would spend my whole lunch hour in line with the rest of Wall Street to eat soup at a Vietnamese restaurant. You ask, “Why stand in line for soup?”.  Well, it was for the best Pho I have ever had.  I ate countless bowls of this stuff with coworkers and then when I returned to Atlanta, I missed it so much.  Yes, there are restaurants in my area far and few between who make Pho, but venturing out to these other parts of town is a little time-consuming. I am almost in the heart of ATL and such restaurants are outside the perimeter. Anyway, I finally solved the problem by making my own Pho! I was soooo excited and it was ultra yummy. Pho can be made with beef, chicken, or pork.  Pork is my favorite so that is what I used, along with udon noodles. Pho typically has rice noodles, but I opted for a heartier noodle. This recipe is now on our list of favorites.

Ingredients

1 pound sirloin pork (fat trimmed), cut into 1-2 inch strips
2 tablespoons teriyaki sauce
1 tablespoon hoisen sauce
1 tablespoon garlic chili sauce
2 green onions, chopped (white and green separated)
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons minced ginger
2 tablespoons soy sauce, reduced sodium
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
6 cups chicken stock, reduced sodium
1 star anise
4 cups bok choy (1 small head, about 1 pound), chopped
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
5 oz udon noodles, dry

Preparation

  • In a medium bowl, toss pork with teriyaki and hoisen sauces. Leave to marinate for 30 minutes to 2 hours in the refrigerator.
  • In a large saucepan, over medium-high heat, brown pork with marinade, frequently stirring for 5 to 7 minutes. Add chili sauce, whites of green onion, garlic, ginger, soy sauce and rice vinegar. Cook for 2 minutes.
  • Add chicken stock and star anise. Bring to a boil. Add bok choy and mushrooms. Reduce heat and let simmer for 10 minutes.
  • Stir in udon noodles and simmer until noodles are tender, about 5 minutes. Ladle into large soup bowls. Garnish with green onions.

Servings: 4

Calories: about 440 per serving.

