Teriyaki Tilapia

Due to catered lunches at work twice a week when I attend project meetings, I feel the need to ensure I eat light in the evenings. Many of the lunches are top quality but heavy and so I need to balance out such rich meals with light dinners (and breakfasts). So, lately I have been on a fish kick for dinner because not only is fish light, but also good for the heart. While at the grocery store buying cod for Baked Cod Casserole, I decided to grab a pound of tilapia. I did not know what I was going to do with the tilapia, but I knew since it is a mild white fish, many flavors would compliment it. Days later I had a craving for something with a teriyaki flavor, and decided to cook the tilapia with this flavor. The results? A light, fresh and flavorful dish. Why buy bottled teriyaki sauce when you can make your own fresh marinade? Nothing is better than fresh garlic enriching the marinade. I really enjoyed this meal as I served the fish with a side of broccoli.

Ingredients

1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
2 Tbsp brown sugar
3 large garlic cloves, minced ( about a 1 tablespoon)
juice of 1 lime ( about 1-2 tablespoons)
1 tsp fresh ginger, minced
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 lb tilapia fillets

Preparation

Combine the soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic, lime juice, ginger and red pepper flakes in a wide, shallow baking pan that will hold all of the fish in a single layer. Stir briefly to dissolve the sugar.

Add the tilapia, then turn it over so that it’s coated all over with the marinade. Set aside for 10 minutes, then flip and marinate for 10-20 more minutes.

Heat the broiler to high and move the oven rack to position closest to heat. Slide the pan into the oven and broil the fish for 5 minutes. If the juices in the pan begin to burn, add a little water to the dry spot to prevent burning.

Turn the fish over and broil for 5 more minutes. The fish should be opaque and flaky.

Spoon the sauce over the fish when serving.

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of a recipe (5.3 ounces).
Calories 149.89

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat (12%) 17.71
Total Fat 1.96g 3%
Saturated Fat 0.67g 3%

