Sweet and Sour Pork

I must have been Chinese in a former life. I say this because I love Chinese food. It is my goal to get to China someday. I have been abroad quite a few times but never to Asia. I will get there and when I do, I will sample every piece of food insight. Anyway, I often try to find ways to eat my favorite Chinese foods without all the extra oily and breaded restaurant calories. This dish is perfect for my needs and I think you will like it too.

Normally, I have to alter recipes to make them low fat, well this recipe came from a fabulous book I received as a birthday gift and there was not much to change. I used peanut oil for greater flavor, added shredded carrots for more nutrition and color, and used a larger can of pineapple, as I love the natural sweetness.

Ingredients

1 lb lean pork tenderloin, trimmed and cut into 1/2 inch pieces
2 Tbs cornstarch
2 Tbs reduced-sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup organic ketchup
3 Tbs cider vinegar
3 Tbs sugar
15.5 oz 1 can pineapple chunks in juice, drained and juice reserved
5 tsp peanut oil
4 tsp grated ginger
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 small red bell pepper, chopped
1 small green bell pepper, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1 carrot, peeled into ribbons
2 cups hot cooked brown or white rice

Preparation

Combine the pork, 1 tablespoon cornstarch, and 1 tablespoon soy sauce in a large bowl. Toss well.

Combine the ketchup, vinegar, sugar, reserved pineapple juice, the remaining 1 tablespoon cornstarch, and the remaining tablespoon soy sauce in a small bowl.

Heat the oil in a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the pork and cook, stirring often, until the pink is almost gone, about 3 to 4 minutes. Add the ginger and garlic. Stir until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

Stir in the bell peppers, onion, carrot, and pineapple. Cook until crisp tender, 4 to 5 minutes. Stir in the ketchup mixture. Bring to a boil and cook until slightly thickened, about 1 minute. Serve over rice.

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of a recipe (17 ounces).
Calories 451.66

Tips
You can use regular ketchup, but we prefer organic ketchup because it has natural sugar and does not contain high fructose corn syrup.
Use a potato peeler to shred into thin ribbons.

Source

Original Author: Liz Vaccariello
Original Source: 400 Calorie Fix

