Sirloin Sloppy Joes

If you grew up in America, chances are you ate a Sloppy Joe as a kid. I had not eaten the fun, sloppy sandwich since high school, so I jumped at the chance to make it. My mom gave me a great cookbook for my birthday called 400 Calorie Fix and when I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it.  This sandwich is sweet, fabulous, and very easy to make. Say goodbye to the canned or powder versions, as this puts such sauce shortcuts to shame. I served my sandwiches with a side of Jalapeno Coleslaw, which made a very filling, but light on the calories, meal.  The original recipe called for extra lean ground round, but my tastes like a higher quality meat so I used ground sirloin which is 90% lean.

Ingredients

1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
1 medium onion chopped
1 medium green or red bell pepper, chopped
2 Cloves garlic minced
1 lb ground sirloin
1/2 cup organic ketchup
2 Tbsp packed brown sugar
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1/8 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
4 wheat hamburger buns

Preparation

Heat the oil in a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Cook stirring occasionally, until starting to soften, 3 to 4 minutes.

Stir in the sirloin, breaking into smaller pieces with a wooden spoon, until starting to brown, 9 to 10 minutes. Add the ketchup, sugar, Worcestershire sauce, chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper.

Cook, stirring, until hot and well combined, 2 to 3 minutes. Serve on the hamburger rolls.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (9.4 ounces).
Calories 454.23

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  193.68  43%
Total Fat 21.22g  33%
Saturated Fat 7.64g  38%

