Chipotle Fish Tacos

I have always been a lover of Mexican food, as I was born in Los Angeles, California before departing to the east coast and becoming a southern transplant in Atlanta, Georgia.  Los Angeles is a mecca of Mexican restaurants and food stands.  Recently, my mom brought up a vivid childhood memory of how we would stand in line for freshly made churros.  That really took me back as I can remember the crusty sugary outside contrasted with the soft doughy inside. As my mind floats off into the clouds I have to regroup and remember where I was going with this post. Focus, focus.  Mexican food is one of my favorite cuisines, but I cannot eat beef and pork tacos regularly, as I watch my fat intake.  Fish is a great alternative for a taco, but there are many different types of fish. Some fish are lighter and will fall apart when creating a taco, but some are meatier and can withstand the task.  After trying a few fish taco recipes, I settled on mahi-mahi fillets for my fish taco, and developed these Chipotle Fish Tacos. The Chipotle avocado sauce adds a vibrant kick while imparting amazing flavor.

Ingredients

1 lb mahi-mahi filets
1/4 cup dry white wine
2 Tbsp lime juice, freshly squeezed (about 2-3 limes)
2 Thai chili, red
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
16 small corn tortillas, warmed
1 cup Chipotle salsa (hot or medium)
1 avocado
Iceberg lettuce, shredded, for garnish

Preparation

Rinse fish and pat dry. Combine in a plastic bowl white wine, lime juice, chili, and garlic. Add fish and set aside in the refrigerator to marinate for 15 minutes.

Remove fish from marinade, lightly pat dry, and season with salt and black pepper.

Heat oil in a large frying pan over medium-high heat. When oil shimmers, place fish in skillet. Cook until opaque and firm to touch, about 3-4 minutes per side.

Place fish on a plate and flake fish using two forks. Separate the flesh from the skin and discard the skin.

Mix the salsa with the avocado to create a sauce.

To make a taco, stack 2 tortillas on top of each other and fill with fish, 2 tablespoons sauce, and lettuce. Repeat to make 8 tacos total.

Nutrition Facts
Servings: 4
Yield: 2 tacos per person
Serving size: 1/4 of a recipe (13.8 ounces).
Calories 459.19

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat (27%) 124.44
Total Fat 14.6g 22%
Saturated Fat 1.95g 10%

Tips
The Thai chili in the marinade will not make the fish spicy, as it just further imparts flavor into the fish.  For the spicy kick, the Chipotle sauce will provide this. It is not recommended that a regular salsa be used. If you cannot find Chipotle salsa, buy regular salsa and canned Chipotle peppers. Blend the salsa together with 1-2 Chipotle peppers, to taste. Add in the avocado to finish the sauce.

Source

My recipe is based off Aida Mollenkamp’s recipe. I added chilies to the marinade and developed a Chipotle avocado sauce, as the original recipe lacked the spicy kick and flavor I like in my Mexican food.

Original Author: Aida Mollenkamp
Original Source: Ask Aida, Taqueria Mexican episode

