Chipotle Jalapeno Burgers

This week at work was mind numbing, as each day was just non-stop. Many of the recipes I share contain multiple ingredients, as I am a big fan of cooking involved recipes because it is therapeutic. But, this week, my mission in life was to get hours of sleep, so a simple recipe to close my week is all I required.  Driving past a burger joint on my lunch hour, I had a craving for a burger. Instead of stopping and indulging in some monstrous, greased up concoction, I always prefer to make my burgers at home with 90% lean ground beef. Do not cook with beef under 90% as these are too fatty. I had a need for spice, so I made a Chipotle Jalapeno Burger. This burger is so spicy, it should come with a disclaimer: Warning! Your mouth will burn with exhilarating bliss! This is a favorite dish of mine, as I top it with fresh onions, lettuce, and just a drop of organic ketchup.

Ingredients

3 jalapeno peppers, chopped
3 Chipotle peppers, chopped
4 oz light cream cheese, softened
1 lb ground beef, 90% lean
4 wheat hamburger buns, split

Preparation

Preheat broiler on high.

In a medium bowl, stir together the jalapenos, Chipotle peppers, and cream cheese.

Divide the ground beef into 8 portions and pat out each one to 1/4 inch thickness. Spoon some of the cream cheese mixture onto the center of 4 of the patties. Top with the remaining patties, pressing the edges together to seal.

Cook in broiler for about 10 minutes, or until done.

Serve on buns with your favorite toppings.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (6.9 ounces).
Calories 362.09

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat (44%) 158.96
Total Fat 17.69g 27%
Saturated Fat 7.5g 38%

