Blue Cheese and Bacon Potato Salad

The Super Bowl is Sunday and while my favorite team, The Pittsburgh Steelers, are not in it this year I still have cravings for football party food.  I have been so on point with my healthy eating that I know a plate of spicy hot wings with blue cheese will kill my weekly efforts. As a result, I decided to make my own recipe for Blue Cheese and Bacon Potato Salad. Encompassing the flavors of Tabasco hot sauce, blue cheese, bacon, and potatoes, this dish is perfectly light and suites my tastes for hot sauce and blue cheese. While I do have a recipe for killer blue cheese dip, which is actually healthy, I still am trying to create the perfect lighter hot wing, so I opted to go with my potato salad.  Don’t forget to add a few dashes of Tabasco hot sauce on top of your serving, as this perfectly balances this dish.

Ingredients

2 lbs red potatoes, cut into 1 inch pieces
1/4 cup blue cheese, crumbled
2 ounces light cream cheese, softened
2 Tbsp mayonnaise, reduced fat
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice (about 1 lemon)
1/4 cup sour cream, reduced fat
1 Tbsp white wine vinegar
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp Tabasco hot sauce, plus extra for topping
3 slices bacon
4 green onions, chopped
3/4 cup celery, finely chopped

Preparation

Place potatoes in a large pot and add enough water to cover. Bring to a boil over high heat.

Boil until very tender when pierced with a fork, 20 to 25 minutes.  Remove from the heat and drain.  While warm, cut the potatoes into 1 inch cubes. Place in a large bowl and set aside.

In a skillet on medium-high heat, cook bacon until crisp, and cut into one inch pieces. Set aside pieces and rendered fat.

In a bowl, combine cheeses, mayonnaise, lemon juice, sour cream, vinegar, salt, and Tabasco.

Fold in green onions, potatoes, rendered fat, and celery.

Refrigerate for up to 24 hours and serve. You can immediately serve but if you let it refrigerate the potatoes will absorb the flavor.

 Serve each salad topped with a few dashes of Tabasco hot sauce.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 6
Serving size: 1/6 of a recipe (8.2 ounces).
Calories: 227.1

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat (40%) 91.71
Total Fat (16%) 10.3g
Saturated Fat (22%) 4.42g

