Fettuccine with Shrimp and Asparagus

My coworker and I were discussing how much we like asparagus but are not good at cooking it. I told her the best asparagus I ever had was when I was in Madrid, Spain and it was so amazing that I asked the chef how it was prepared. The chef had grilled it with olive oil and topped it off with a touch of sea salt and lemon. While I had not yet tried to duplicate the chef’s efforts, my memories inspired me to make asparagus in a pasta dish. Casually thumbing through the pasta book my sister gave me for Christmas, I found this dish with pasta, shrimp, and the almighty asparagus. Such a simple dish with simple ingredients. I immediately jumped at the opportunity to give this a try. This is a light dish and I enjoyed it so much that when my coworker requested the recipe, I scanned the page and gave it to her.

Ingredients

3/4 lb medium asparagus, tough ends snapped off,
spears halved lengthwise, then cut diagonally
into 1 inch pieces
1/4cup extra-virgin olive oil
3 medium garlic cloves, minced
3/4 lb small shrimp, peeled, deveined, and halved
1 Tbsp salt
1 lb fettuccine
salt to taste
pepper to taste

Preparation

Bring 1 inch of water to a boil in a large pot. Put the asparagus in a steamer basket in a pot. Cover and steam over medium-high heat until the asparagus is just tender, about 2 minutes. Remove the asparagus and set aside. Reserve 3/4 cup of the asparagus steaming liquid.

Place the oil and garlic in a large skillet over medium heat and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the asparagus and 1/2 cup of the asparagus water and cook until the liquid has been reduced by half, about 3 minutes. Add the shrimp and cook until pink, stirring frequently, 3 to 4 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Meanwhile, bring 4 quarts of water to a boil in a large pot. Add 1 tablespoon salt and the pasta to the boiling water. Cook until al dente. Drain the pasta and toss with the sauce, adding the remaining reserved cooking water as needed to moisten the pasta. Divide among 4 pasta bowls and serve immediately.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (14 ounces).
Calories 621.81

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  144.54  23%
Total Fat 16.27g  25%
Saturated Fat 2.26g  11%

Source

The Complete Book of Pasta and Noodles

