Spicy Peanut Capellini

I have an addiction to shopping for food.  I will show up at the grocery store or farmer’s market, buy everything on my list and then continue to coast around the store on a mission to find more fresh and exciting ingredients to add into my overly, stuffed cart.  This weekend I decided to not go grocery shopping and make meals out of whatever I have in my home. Since I have a food saver machine, I have plenty of leftover veggies I could use for this recipe along with a large container of lightly salted peanuts in my freezer.  Because I have a plethora of Asian ingredients in my cabinet, as I just love Asian food, a quick peanut pasta dish came to mind. This dish is a spicier variation of an Epicurious recipe.  I used Capellini pasta, which is a thin pasta, similar to angel hair pasta. The Capellini was perfect to toss in this light peanut sauce.  Great, easy, and an ideal meal for my Friday night.

Ingredients

6 Tbsp creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup chicken broth, reduced sodium
3 Tbsp rice vinegar
3 Tbsp soy sauce, reduced sodium
1 1/2  Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp sesame oil
1 Tbsp fresh ginger, minced
1/2 tsp chili garlic sauce
1 cup carrots, shredded
1/2 cup green onions, chopped
8 oz Capellini pasta
1/4 cup salted peanuts, chopped
4 tsp Sriracha sauce

Preparation

Combine and whisk the first 8 ingredients in large bowl. Set aside.

Cook pasta in large pot of boiling water until al dente, stirring occasionally. Drain pasta.

Add carrots and green onions to the peanut mixture. Stir to blend. Add hot pasta to the peanut mixture and toss to coat pasta. Sprinkle with peanuts and lightly toss again.

Divide pasta among 4 bowls and top each bowl with a drizzle of 1 teaspoon Sriracha sauce.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (14 ounces).
Calories 511.04

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  194.43  38%
Total Fat 23.75g 37%
Saturated Fat 4.06g 20%

