Spicy Chicken Marsala

As I continued my week of making meals out of whatever I have in my home and resisting the urge to splurge at the farmer’s market, I decided to make Chicken Marsala. Having eaten this several times at restaurants, I realized I had never made it at home. Well, with chicken breast in my fridge and Marsala wine in my cabinet, I took the plunge into making this dish for the first time. I did not necessarily use a recipe from a book, but developed this one after researching what is typically in a Chicken Marsala recipe. I am a big fan of spicy foods so adding a kick to this dish with cayenne pepper was a must for me. I found this dish to be spicy with a hint of sweetness from the Marsala wine. The dish turned out well and I was glad to have made something delicious out of what I already had in my home.

Ingredients

1/2 cup wheat flour, white, unbleached, all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1  1/2 lb skinless and boneless chicken breasts, cut in 1-inch chunks
2 Tbsp unsalted butter
2 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1 garlic clove, pressed
8 oz sliced white button mushrooms
1/2 medium onion, chopped
3/4 cup Marsala wine
4 thyme sprigs

Preparation

Combine the flour, salt, and pepper in a shallow bowl and add the chicken. Coat the chicken with the flour mixture.

In a large skillet, melt the butter and oil over medium high heat. Cook the chicken until light brown on all sides and lightly crisp for about 5 minutes. Do not overcook because the chicken will finish cooking later in the sauce. Remove chicken and set aside on a plate.

Reduce heat to medium and add the garlic, mushrooms and onions. Sauté until softened. If the pan is dry add 1 teaspoon of olive oil. Return the chicken to the pan and add the marsala wine and thyme sprigs. Cover the pan, reduce heat to low and simmer for 10 minutes, or until the sauce thickens and the chicken is cooked through. Remove thyme sprigs and serve.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (11.2 ounces).
Calories 412.09

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  153.18  27%
Total Fat 17.29g 37%
Saturated Fat 5.61g 28%

