Apple Pecan Chicken Salad

My day off at home was just perfect with much cooking involved. After making Chipotle Veggie Capellini, which was delicious, this recipe was next on my list. Unlike the Capellini, I did not develop this recipe but found it in the book Sandwiches, Panini, and Wraps.  The only things I changed in this recipe were using reduced fat mayo, adding an extra tablespoon of mustard, using Georgia pecans (not toasted), and using apple jelly, when the recipe called for apple cider jelly.  Overall, so amazing, as my choice of sourdough Kamut bread, toasted, to compliment the salad made me feel like I was in a quality restaurant, instead of at home. My tongue tingled as I ate the pecans. Still trying to determine if I am allergic or just super excited every time I eat pecans! Fantastic!

Ingredients

1/2 cup mayonnaise, reduced fat
2 Tbsp stone ground mustard
1/4 cup apple jelly
2 scallions, chopped
1/3 cup celery, finely chopped
1 green apple, peeled, cored, and finely chopped
3/4 cup pecans, unsalted, chopped
2 tsp Italian flat leaf  parsley, chopped
1 1/2 lb chicken breast, skinless and boneless, cooked and thinly sliced
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
6 large fresh sour dough Kamut bread slices, toasted and cut in half

Preparation

Combine mayonnaise, mustard, jelly, scallions, celery, apple, pecans, and parsley in a large mixing bowl. Stir to combine thoroughly.

Add chicken, toss to coat, and season with salt and pepper. Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Serve 3/4 cup of salad with two halves of sliced bread per plate.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 6
Serving size: 1/6 of recipe (7.6 ounces).
Calories 336.73

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  94.92  28%
Total Fat 10.99g  17%
Saturated Fat 1.78g  9%

