Asiago Mushrooms

I regularly read fellow food bloggers websites and recently a posting by A Recipe for a Day caught my eye. Because I am reading a book which talks about eating smaller portions of meat and embracing veggies more, I am always open to veggie recipes. Nancy, the writer of A Recipe for a Day, posted a Panko Mushroom recipe. I immediately wanted to try it, since mushrooms are on the top of my veggie list for their meatiness and flavor. But, her recipe fries the mushrooms, and while the mushrooms look delectable, I know I cannot take in those additional calories and fat.  When I asked her if baking might work, she suggested I give it a try. Well, here are my successful, delicious results. I also added Asiago cheese, chives, white pepper, and garlic salt to my version. The moment I tasted the mushrooms, these instantly became a favorite.

Ingredients

spray canola oil
2 eggs, beaten
1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs
1 Tbsp fresh chives, finely chopped
2 Tbsp Asiago cheese, finely grated
12 large mushrooms, cleaned and stems discarded
1 tsp white pepper
1 tsp garlic salt

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350° F. Spray a baking sheet with canola oil.

In a bowl, beat eggs and set aside. In another bowl, mix bread crumbs, chives and cheese.

Dip mushrooms into the egg, and then dip into the bread crumb mixture. Lightly pat the bread crumb mixture onto the mushrooms.

Place breaded mushrooms onto baking sheet. Lightly spray the tops with canola oil.  Place in the oven and bake for 25 minutes or until bread crumbs are golden brown.

Remove from the oven and while hot, sprinkle the mushrooms with white pepper and garlic salt.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (5 ounces).
Calories 229.61

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  54.03  24%
Total Fat 6.08g  9%
Saturated Fat 1.98g  10%

