Spaghetti Carbonara

Last week my quote, regarding restaurant weeks, was in the Atlanta Journal Constitution (AJC) newspaper. I was so excited to see my name and our blog listed that I immediately craved my ultimate, favorite dish, Spaghetti Carbonara.  I like to eat this dish when in celebration mode, and while I have had it many places, my most memorable moment is when I was in Madrid, Spain last summer. I walked into this Italian restaurant in the Opera district with limited Spanish, so ordering lunch was a challenge. The waiter did not understand English, which is reasonable because I am in his city, so all I could manage to say was Spaghetti Carbonara.  My waiter smiled and next thing you know I had my pasta. The power of food transcends all language barriers! This dish is traditionally high in fat, so of course I had to alter the recipe so it could become a favorite at home. I reduced the amount of cheese and olive oil, and eat this in smaller servings, which makes all the difference in calories.  This dish should not be eaten in large portions and I recommend serving on smaller plates with a side of salad to balance out the meal.

Ingredients

1 lb wheat spaghetti
2 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
4 medium garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
1/4 lb bacon, sliced a 1/4 inch thick, diced
1/4 cup dry white wine
3 large eggs
1/2 cup parmesan cheese, freshly grated
2 Tbsp flat leaf Italian parsley, minced
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp garlic salt

Preparation

Bring 4 quarts of water to a boil in a large pot. Add pasta to the water and cook until al dente.

While pasta is cooking, heat oil and garlic in a skillet over medium heat. Cook the garlic until golden for 2 to 3 minutes.  Discard the garlic.

Add bacon and cook for 2 to 3 minutes, until beginning to crisp. Add wine and simmer for 2 to 3 minutes, until the alcohol aroma has cooked off. Remove from heat, cover, and keep warm.

Lightly beat the eggs with cheese and parsley in a large bowl.

Drain the pasta, leaving it slightly wet, and transfer it to a bowl with the egg mixture. Season with garlic salt and pepper. Lightly toss. Add more garlic salt and pepper to taste, if necessary. But be careful to not add too much salt, especially if you are watching your blood pressure.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 6
Serving size: 1/6 of recipe (5.5 ounces).
Calories 510.44

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  187.09  37%
Total Fat 21.05g  32%
Saturated Fat 7.44g  37%

