Zucchini and Shallot Pizza

I have just returned from my trip to Rome, Italy. While I was there, I had zucchini pizza, which I really liked. Zucchini is in season so, because of this, it was used in a lot of spring Italian dishes. Now that I am home, I decided to try my own take on zucchini pizza. When in Italy, the pizza only had zucchini and cheese on it. I decided to take it up a notch and make a pizza with the addition of ricotta cheese, shallots, and garlic. The results were great and very tasty.

Ingredients

1/4 cup wheat flour
8 oz wheat pizza dough
1 Tbsp yellow cornmeal
2 tsp extra-virgin olive oil
3 oz ricotta cheese, part skim
1 large zucchini, shredded
1 shallot, sliced
4.5 oz mozzarella, shredded
2 large garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp white pepper

Preparation

Sprinkle flour onto a large cutting board. Roll dough sprinkled with flour into a 10 to 11-inch-diameter circle.

Preheat oven to 425°. Sprinkle cornmeal over pizza pan.  Tranfer dough to pan.

Drizzle oil over dough. Take the back of a spoon and gently spread out the oil evenly over dough.

Lightly squeeze moisture out of zucchini.

Evenly sprinkle zucchini, shallots, mozzarella, and garlic over dough.

Season with white pepper.

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until the crust is crisp and the cheese is lightly brown

Cut into 8 wedges and serve immediately.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 8
Serving size: 1/8 of recipe (4.1 ounces).
Calories 192.13

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  53.07  28%
Total Fat 6.01g  9%
Saturated Fat  2.52g  13%

