Tangy Potato Salad

This week was difficult to get through because I want so badly to be back in Ireland on vacation.  Going to Italy and Ireland was wonderful and the only activity keeping me sane is cooking recipes from the cookbooks I bought in each city.  While I am still trying to translate my 3 Italian cookbooks, it was a piece of cake using the large book I bought in Ireland. It was such a fantastic experience shopping for an Irish cookbook.  I walked into a small book store, while in Dublin, and asked the owner if she had any books specific to Irish cuisine. She immediately recognized I was an American and so our friendly conversation ensued. She was very accommodating and pulled a variety of books from the shelves, which made me feel special because we have nothing but large, impersonal bookstores in Atlanta.  She was so attentive, which illustrated the true friendliness of the Irish. After looking at many books, I settled on a book about potatoes, which is the staple veggie of Ireland. The book is simply called Potatoes, but it is 256 pages of full color photos and beautiful recipes. I have many recipes marked to try, but this tangy potato salad is my first choice. The only ingredient I changed was I used reduced fat mayonnaise. I am very pleased with this dish and it has become my lunch the last few days at work. It is light on the calories but very filling.


Ingredients

3 lbs small new, red, and/or blue potatoes
2 Tbsp white wine vinegar
1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
3 Tbsp olive oil
6 Tbsp red onion, chopped
1/2 cup mayonnaise, reduced fat
2 Tbsp fresh tarragon, chopped
1 celery stalk, thinly sliced
salt
black pepper
tarragon leaves, to garnish


Preparation

Cook the potatoes in their skins in boiling salted water until tender, about 15-20 minutes. Drain well.

Mix together the vinegar and mustard, then slowly whisk in the oil.

When potatoes are cool enough to handle slice into a large bowl.

Add the onion to the potatoes and pour the combined vinegar, mustard and oil mixture over them.

Season, then toss gently to combine.

Leave to stand at least 30 minutes in the refrigerator.

Mix together the mayonnaise and tarragon. Gently stir into the potatoes along with the celery. Serve garnished with tarragon leaves.


Nutrition Facts

Servings: 8
Serving size: 1/8 of recipe (7.5 ounces).
Calories 202.90

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  71.04  35%
Total Fat 8.11g  12%
Saturated Fat  1.23g  6%

