Fettuccine Mac and Cheese

Last week Danny’s Kitchen recognized my blog with the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.  It is so comforting and rewarding to be nominated by a fellow foodie blogger. Danny’s blog is great, as he posts recipes he creates and also other information about food. As a way of saying thank you to Danny, I have made one of his recipes and added my own creative flair.  I took his recipe for Broccoli Cheddar Mac N’ Cheese and made Fettuccine Mac and Cheese.  I used less cheese and 2% milk to reduce the fat, but used extra sharp cheddar cheese.  In addition, I added shredded zucchini, as it mixes in well with the fettuccine and provides added nutrition, and used panko bread crumbs for a nice crunchy topping.  This recipe is for 6 servings as side dishes, so complement this dish with a lighter meat, such as chicken breast, or serve with a salad.

Being recognized for the  Very Inspiring Blogger Award requires me to share  7 things about myself and nominate 15 other bloggers.  Below are 7 things about myself and I hope you find them interesting.  HA! HA!  I want to nominate the fabulous other bloggers in a separate posting, so stay tuned.

7 Things About The Low Fat Chick

  1. I worked on Wall Street in NYC as a Financial Analyst.
  2. I studied abroad in Argentina and Uruguay in grad school.
  3. I designed an indie clothing line for 5 years.
  4. I fell in love with food the same age Julia Child did.
  5. I have 3 doggies and my oldest is 15 years old.
  6. I have my two dream cars, Volkswagen New Beetle and Ford Mustang.
  7. I have a major foodie weakness of pizza.

Ingredients

8 oz fettuccine
1/2 cup zucchini, shredded
1 1/2 cups 2% milk
3 oz extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
5 oz white cheddar cheese, shredded
1 Tbsp corn flour
Salt & Pepper to taste
1 pinch nutmeg
spray canola oil
3/4 cup panko breadcrumbs
1 Tbsp parsley flakes
1/2 tsp garlic salt

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Prepare fettuccine according to package directions, but 1 minute less for al dente. Drain and set aside.

In a large pan, add milk and stir well while heating over low-medium heat. Once milk is heated, but not boiling, add cheeses. Add corn flour and stir. Continue heating a minute or two longer as cheese sauce thickens. Remove from heat.

Squeeze the juice from the zucchini. Add into cheese sauce, mixing well. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Pour entire mixture into a square glass baking dish that has been sprayed with canola oil.

In a small bowl mix together bread crumbs, parsley flakes and garlic salt.

Sprinkle seasoned bread crumbs over the top and bake for 15 minutes.

Change oven setting to broil on low setting and broil for 3 – 5 minutes to toast the bread crumb topping. Please watch carefully to avoid burning.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 6
Serving size: 1/6 of recipe (5.9 ounces).
Calories 385.59

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  134.97  35%
Total Fat 15.3g  24%
Saturated Fat 9.04g  45%

