Cocoa Strawberry Almond Pancakes

I have very few sweet recipes on my blog because I am not a person with a sweet tooth. I am very much into savory food and can walk past a cake or cookies without flinching. But, for some reason I had a dream about creating this recipe, which I believe was spawned from the gorgeous strawberries I purchased from the farmer’s market. As a result, I woke up this morning and decided to make it and hoped it is just as delicious in reality as it was in my dreams. I was not disappointed, because it was amazing. Today’s brunch was as if I was out at a restaurant. I am proud I created this recipe and it is a favorite of mine now.

Ingredients

1 cup 2% milk
1 large egg
2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
1 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 Tbsp strawberry jam
1 tsp almond extract
1 pinch salt
1 1/4 cups wheat flour, white, unbleached, all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
7 strawberries, large, divided
spray canola oil
3 tsp almonds, chopped
3 tsp strawberry jam (optional)
1 1/2 tsp powder sugar
1 1/2 Tbsp maple syrup

Preparation

Beat the milk, egg, butter, sugar, cocoa powder, jam, almond extract, and salt in a large bowl until blended.

Add flour and baking powder, and stir in gently until fully incorporated and batter is smooth. Let the batter rest for 10 minutes.

Dice 4 strawberries. Gently fold into the batter once it is finished resting.

To make pancakes, heat a skillet for about 3 minutes over medium heat. The temperature is the right heat when you drop a few drops of water in the pan and the drops sizzle and evaporate in about 3 seconds.

Spray pan with oil. Use a 1/4 cup measure to scoop batter for medium sized pancakes. Make only as many pancakes in one batch as will fit in the pan without touching. Spray the pan again before making the next batch.

Let the pancakes cook until small bubbles pop through the surface and the bottoms are golden brown, about 4 minutes. Flip each pancake with a spatula and cook for a few more minutes.

Serve two pancakes per plate topped with 1 strawberry sliced, 1 tsp almonds, 1 tsp strawberry jam (optional), 1/2 tsp sprinkled powder sugar, and 1/2 Tbsp maple syrup drizzled.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 3  (2 pancakes per serving)
Serving size: 1/3 of recipe (8.4 ounces).
Calories 438.32

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  116.96  27%
Total Fat 13.26g  20%
Saturated Fat  6.78g  34%

