Tomato and Bacon Casarecce

I am so inspired by the places I have traveled. As a result, I developed this recipe, because my love for pork in pasta will never cease. My pork influence from Spain and the pasta influence of Italy drove me to create this recipe. There are many similar to it, but this is my personal creation without consulting any outside resources. I absolutely love it!  While I am focused on low-fat dishes, using bacon for flavor in a smaller amount is acceptable.  I usually use thin pieces of bacon in recipes but this recipe really needs thick cut bacon for the fat to render and add the flavor.  Also, I am only using 12 oz of pasta, when most people use 16 oz in a recipe. This is because casarecce really absorbs the sauce and if you use 16 oz, the pasta will get dry.  You can use even less pasta if you want more sauce.  Feel free to add additional pinches of red pepper flakes if you like a spicier sauce. I typically add more because I like the healthy burn.

Ingredients

2 pinches salt, divided
12 oz casarecce
6 slices bacon, thick cut
2 Tbsp red onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup Italian parsley, finely chopped
1 tsp red pepper flakes
1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
6 Tbsp Parmesan cheese, freshly grated

Preparation

Boil water and add a pinch of salt to the water. Add casarecce and boil according to package instructions till al dente. Drain and set aside.

Dice bacon and brown in a saucepan over medium high heat for 3-5 minutes. Brown till fat is rendered from the bacon.

Add onion and garlic. Cook until soften.

Add tomato sauce and stir. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 5 minutes.

Add parsley, red pepper flakes, and a pinch of salt. Stir, cover, and simmer for 5 minutes.

Remove sauce from heat and add in casarecce. Toss and serve topped with 1 Tbsp Parmesan cheese per serving.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 6
Serving size: 1/6 of recipe (8.9 ounces).
Calories 480.98

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  204.98  43%
Total Fat 22.86g  35%
Saturated Fat 8.81g  44%

