Zucchini Sticks with Honey Mustard Sauce

In July 2010, when I was a newbie to blogging recipes and did not yet post photos, I first made oven baked zucchini sticks. I loved these then with marinara sauce and this weekend, I was going to make the recipe again, but being almost 2 years later, I felt I should give the recipe a makeover. Since then, I have discovered panko bread crumbs, which I always keep on hand, so I figured I would use these and change up a few of the ingredients for fun. The results were even tastier zucchini sticks, and with honey mustard sauce, it is delightful. Definitely a favorite of mine…again!

Ingredients

Canola cooking spray
1 cup panko bread crumbs
1/2 cup cornmeal
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 lb zucchini, cut into 1/2-by-3-inch sticks
2 large eggs whites, lightly beaten
1/4 cup honey mustard sauce

Preparation

Preheat oven to 475°F. Coat a large baking sheet with cooking spray.

Combine bread crumbs, cornmeal, salt, pepper, and onion powder in a large sealable plastic bag. Dip zucchini in egg whites, shake in the bag to coat, gently press the bread crumbs into zucchini, and arrange, not touching, on the baking sheet. Coat all exposed sides with cooking spray.

Bake on the center rack for 10 minutes. Turn the zucchini and continue to bake until golden and just tender, about 10 to 15 minutes more.

Serve hot with honey mustard sauce.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 2
Serving size: 1/2 of recipe (8.7 ounces).
Calories 364.16

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  60.45  17%
Total Fat 6.89g  11%
Saturated Fat  1.24g  6%

