Cheesy Baked Boiled Eggs

This week was tiring, as I was exhausted from attending the Atlanta Food and Wine Festival, and my niece’s 18th birthday party. I managed to get through the week eating out at Whole Foods hot bar and other decent healthier places until the weekend. This morning I woke up rejuvenated and I wanted to eat something different on this perfect Saturday morning. After thumbing through my cookbooks for inspiration, I decided to make an egg dish. This weekend is all about making do with what I have in the fridge before all my fresh produce goes bad, so I put my creative juices to work. The results? I instantly fell in love with the first bite of this dish. The egg complimented with a cheese sauce, sweet onion and zucchini was an amazing combination. The texture contrast of soft eggs beautifully played off the lightly crisp veggies. This is a new addition to my favorites list!

Be sure to use extra sharp cheddar cheese, as it has a strong flavor, so you can use less of it, which equals fewer calories. If you are watching your cholesterol, reduce eggs to 4.

Ingredients

6 large eggs
1 onion, thinly sliced
1 zucchini, thinly sliced
1/2 tsp garlic salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 cup 2% milk
1 Tbsp butter, unsalted 
1/4 cup flour
4 oz extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded, divided
1 pinch nutmeg
1 pinch salt
1 pinch pepper
1/2 tsp parsley flakes
1/8 tsp paprika

Preparation

Place eggs in a sauce pan and add water until eggs are covered. Cook over high heat. Once boiling, cook for 15 minutes.

Drain water from pan. Add cold water and ice cubes. Set aside.

Place onion and zucchini in a shallow baking dish or pie plate. Add garlic salt and pepper. Toss to coat and spread out into an even layer.

Preheat oven to 400°F.

In a small sauce pan, add milk, butter and flour. Stirring continuously with a whisk, slowly bring to a boil over low-medium heat. Once sauce begins to bubble, remove from heat and whisk in 3 oz of cheese, nutmeg, salt, and a pinch of pepper.

Remove eggs from cold water, peel and slice in half. Add the eggs, with yolk side up, in an even layer on top of vegetables.

Pour cheese sauce over the eggs and vegetables. Top with remaining 1 oz cheese, parsley flakes and paprika.

Bake in oven for 25-30 minutes until sauce is bubbly and cheese is lightly brown.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (8.9 ounces).
Calories 327.28

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  185.72  57%
Total Fat 20.94g  32%
Saturated Fat  11.00g  55%

