Ginger Banana Bread

My bananas on the counter were so dark and ripe that all I kept thinking about was making banana bread, so I could eat it all week for breakfast. Regular banana bread is awesome but it is even better with ginger. The flavor of the bananas with ginger pops in your mouth. Yum! When I saw this recipe from Five and Spice, I had to go for it. I finally was able to use the rest of the crystallized ginger in my fridge, as this was the perfect use. I am taking a few pieces to my mom today, when I visit her, and I know she is gonna love it. This is the type of bread you serve to guests as it has an impressive flavor and is moist. The original recipe called for sour cream but I just used milk and all was good. I also substituted star anise for the cardamon, which was excellent. Enjoy!

Ingredients

2 cups flour, wheat unbleached all purpose
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup crystallized ginger, chopped
2 large eggs
3/4 cup sugar
3 1/2 bananas, very ripe, mashed
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 Tbsp 2% milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 Tbsp sugar
1 pinch star anise
1 pinch nutmeg

Preparation

Grease a standard loaf pan, and preheat oven to 350°F.

In a medium bowl stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and crystallized ginger.

In another mixing bowl, beat together eggs and sugar until thick and lightened in color, about 3 minutes.

Stir in the mashed banana, vanilla, milk, and oil, until well combined.

Gently fold in the dry ingredients, just until everything is combined and there are no dry streaks left. Do not over mix, which will result in a tough bread.

Scrape the batter into the prepared loaf pan. Mix together the 1 Tbsp sugar with the star anise and nutmeg.

Sprinkle this evenly over the batter. Bake for 45-60 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Allow to cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then run a knife around the edges to loosen it, take the bread out of the pan, and put on a cooling rack to cool the rest of the way. Fully cool before serving.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 12
Serving size: 1/12 of recipe (3.6 ounces).
Calories 282.46

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  91.01  32%
Total Fat 10.3g  16%
Saturated Fat  1.04g  5%

