Olive Burgers

Olive Burger 10.27.13

Once I spent time in Spain last summer, I came home in love with olives. Maybe it was the wonderful way the flavors complimented the wines or the picturesque sight of olive trees in the countryside that influenced my love, but all I know is I enjoy olives in a way I never have before.  I wanted to try combining the wonderfully salty olives in a burger with herbs for a unique dinner.  So, I created this burger and found it to be fantastic.  Do not top with a strong cheese like cheddar, as this does not go well with the burger. I recommend a cheese lighter in flavor like provolone.

Ingredients

1 lb ground sirloin
3 oz green olives with pimentos, finely chopped
2 Tbsp parsley, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 tsp dried oregano 
1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper
1 pinch red pepper flakes
olive oil
4 large wheat hamburger buns
ketchup, if desired
mustard, if desired
lettuce, if desired

Preparation

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Combine first seven ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix until well incorporated. Shape into 4 burgers.

Lightly brush a rimmed baking sheet with olive oil.  Place burgers on baking sheet and place sheet in oven. Bake for 5 minutes. The gently flip and cook for additional 5 minutes, or until cooked through.

Serve each burger on a hamburger bun topped, if desired, with ketchup, mustard and lettuce.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (6.8 ounces).
Calories 398.12

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  194.33  49%
Total Fat 21.35g  33%
Saturated Fat  7.53g  38%

