Cod Pie

I have been blogging regularly for almost 3 years with over 130 posts and this month was the hardest to maintain my love for blogging.  My job has been so stressful, that I took time off by visiting friends on an east coast road trip from Atlanta, Georgia.  I visited Virginia, Maryland, DC, New Jersey and New York.  The highlight of this road trip was ending up in the NYC area and listening to Anthony Bourdain speak. I purchased the ticket way back in February and I cannot believe the time had finally come.  My best friend and I had a fabulous night listening to him in Brooklyn and then heading over to Little Italy for dinner. I normally take pictures of all my foodie adventures, as I would have loved to have posted a fun road trip bit, but I was so happy to be free from work, that I rarely used my SLR camera.  I guess we sometimes need to forget all about technology and just enjoy the moment. Anyway, I go to Puerto Rico in a week and a half, so I will get back into my love for sharing my foodie adventures.  For now, I am just happy to be back on the blogging tip and I would like to share this tasty, cod pie with you.

Ingredients

4 Tbsp butter, unsalted (divided)
1 lb cod fillets, fresh
1 lemon rind, finely grated
1 lb russet potatoes, peeled and
quartered
salt, to taste
black pepper, to taste
1 egg, beaten
1 Tbsp flour
2/3 cup 2% milk
3 Tbsp chopped parsley
1/2 tsp parsley flakes (optional)
1/2 tsp paprika (optional)
Tabasco hot sauce (optional)

Preparation

Preheat oven to 425°F. Grease a 9 inch pie plate or another oven proof dish with 1 tablespoon butter.

Cut the cod into bite size pieces. Season the fish with salt and pepper, and sprinkle over the lemon rind. Place cod in the base of the prepared dish. Place the dish in the refrigerator, while you prepare the topping.

Cook the potatoes in boiling salted water for 15 minutes, or until tender.

While the potatoes are boiling, make the sauce. Melt 1 tablespoon butter in a saucepan, add the flour and cook, stirring, for a few minutes. Remove from the heat and gradually whisk in the milk. Return to the heat and bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer, whisking constantly, until the sauce has thickened and achieved a smooth consistency. Add parsley and season with salt and pepper to taste. Remove the dish from the refrigerator and pour the mixture over the fish. Spread the mixture out in an even layer.

Drain the potatoes well and mash with the remaining 2 tablespoons butter. Spoon the potatoes over the fish mixture in an even layer. Brush the beaten egg over the potatoes. Top with parsley flakes and paprika, if desired. Bake for 45 minutes until the top is golden brown. Cut into 8 slices and serve hot. Top each slice with a few dashes of Tabasco sauce, if desired.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4 (2 pieces per serving)
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (10.9 ounces).
Calories 333.90

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  128.11  38%
Total Fat 14.52g  22%
Saturated Fat  8.41g  42%

