Shrimp with Audouille and Hominy Grits

I grew up in different places so I often tell people I am not sure where I am from or where to claim home. But, after leaving the south, it has become apparent that I am mostly a southerner, even though I maintain a west coast accent.  Being raised in California, Pennsylvania, and Georgia, I sometimes have an identity crisis, but the food always brings me back to Georgia, as nothing beats southern cooking. Unfortunately, there are many unhealthy southern recipes, but this one is not only healthier but the flavors are so amazing. No southern recipe would be complete without butter for top-notch flavor, so the fat content is a little higher than most my recipes, but still low in calories.

I have made shrimp and grits before, but never made a recipe that made me think I was in a restaurant.  This recipe, which I made from southern chef Hugh Acheson’s book, A New Turn in the South, is so fabulous I am at a loss for words. The effort required to make this is worth it and if you serve to guests for brunch, you will truly impress. I cannot get enough of this dish, especially when I top it with a few dashes of Tabasco sauce. Oh, and it makes it even better that I won this gorgeous book in a twitter contest a few months ago.

Ingredients

3/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup hominy grits
4 Tbsp butter, unsalted, cold
1/2 cup sweet onion, minced
1/4 cup celery, minced
1/2 pound andouille sausage, chopped into 1/4 inch cubes
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 cup roasted red peppers, chopped
2 plum tomatoes, seeded and diced
1 tsp Old Bay seasoning
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 cup tomato juice
1/2 cup clam juice
1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 tsp fresh thyme, chopped
1 tsp fresh flat leaf parsley, chopped
1 Tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice (about 1 lemon)

Preparation

In a nonreactive 2-quart saucepan, combine 3 cups water, 1/2 tsp of salt, and the grits. Place on high heat and bring to a boil, stirring with a whisk. As soon as the water boils, reduce to a simmer. Cook the grits, stirring every 5 minutes or so, for an hour. Then stir in 2 tablespoons of butter and set the cooked grits aside.

Melt 1 tablespoon of the butter in a 12-inch frying pan over medium heat, and when the butter bubbles and froths add the onion, celery, and andouille. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring every minute. Add the garlic, red peppers, tomatoes, Old Bay, and red pepper flakes. Cook for 5 more minutes, then add the tomato juice and clam juice. Stir well and reduce the liquid for about 2 minutes.

Season the shrimp with the remaining 1/4 teaspoon of salt and add the shrimp to the pan. Stir well to combine and cook them for 5 minutes. The cooked shrimp should be just white, no longer translucent, but not chalky and dry. Add the remaining tablespoon of butter to the pan and finish with the thyme, parsley, and lemon juice.

Place about 3/4 cup of grits on each plate and then spoon a quarter of the stewed shrimp, peppers, and
tomatoes over each pile of grits. Serve immediately.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (13.2 ounces).
Calories 530.03

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  262.47  50%
Total Fat 29.42g  45%
Saturated Fat  12.73g  64%

