Spicy Chorizo Chili

Since I moved from the south to Stamford, CT, the weather is a little different. It is now officially fall and the crisp weather has arrived.  I do not remember wearing a coat so soon when in Georgia, but the mornings here are quite chilly, so I have already been wearing a coat.  When the weather gets chilly, I tend to get in the mood for chili.  This is my own recipe for chili, which I had tweaked for over a year, and finally believe I have developed the perfect recipe. The chili is spicy and since I am addicted to spicy foods, I cannot get enough. This dish keeps me warm and puts me in a cozy mood, which is why I so love this recipe. Don’t forget the sour cream and chives to balance the spice.

Ingredients

6 oz pork chorizo, case removed, crumbled
1 small onion, chopped
1 1/2 Tbsp garlic, minced
1 28 oz can diced tomatoes
2 celery stalks, finely chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 Tbsp red hot chili pepper, finely diced
2 16 oz cans kidney beans, reduced sodium, drained
1/2 cup dry red wine
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 pinch salt
2 Tbsp chili powder
1/2 Tbsp dried oregano
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp paprika
8 oz sour cream, fat free
2 Tbsp chives, finely chopped

Preparation

Heat a skillet on medium-high heat. Sauté chorizo, onion and garlic till chorizo is brown and onion is soft. 3-5 minutes.

Add chorizo mixture to slow cooker. Add the remaining ingredients, except sour cream and chives. Stir and cook on high for 5 hours.

Serve each bowl of chili topped with sour cream and chives.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 8
Serving size: 1/8 of recipe (11.5 ounces).
Calories 321.10

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat 87.39  27%
Total Fat 9.79g  15%
Saturated Fat  3.48g  17%

