Sesame Turkey Burger

sesame turkey burger 1-1-2013

Happy New Year!  I have been on a break from blogging for a few months as the holidays, work deadlines, and family priorities took over.  With it being the new year, my foodie resolution is to get back to creating recipes and blogging.  While I maintained a healthy eating lifestyle during my blogging break, I did not do much as far as developing new recipes.  Well, New Years day I had an itch to make a turkey burger, but I wanted to make a new flavorful burger.  What I came up with is this recipe, which is soooo delish!  The use of quality, dried spices makes this a quick, easy recipe with top notch flavor. I topped this burger with lettuce, tomatoes, onions, and ketchup and could not get enough. When I ate the last burger, I was sad it was gone.  Definitely a new favorite for me!

Ingredients

1 lb 99% Lean Ground Turkey
3 Tbsp sesame seeds
2 Tbsp soy sauce, reduced sodium
1 Tbsp ground basil, dried
3 Tbsp granulated onion
1 Tbsp garlic powder
2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 Tbsp peanut oil, divided
1 tsp black pepper
4 wheat hamburger buns, split

Preparation

Mix together, gently, the first 7 ingredients in a bowl. Add in 1 Tbsp peanut oil and pepper, and continue to mix gently. Place bowl in the fridge for an hour.

Form meat mixture into 4 patties and set aside.

In a skillet, heat remaining peanut oil on medium heat. Place patties in skillet, reduce heat slightly and cook for 2-3 minutes, or until brown. Gently flip patties and continue to cook for 2-3 more minutes, or until done. Be sure to resist the urge to cook at a high heat so you do not burn the juices on the outside of burger.

Serve each burger on buns with your favorite toppings.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (6.9 ounces).
Calories 371.92

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  111.61  30%
Total Fat 12.82g  20%
Saturated Fat  3.26g  16%

