Sweet Potatoes and Sausage Hash

Sweet Potato and Italian Sausage Hash web

Today I had President’s Day off and after having a successful visit to the dentist, I decided to head to the store because I felt like cooking.  Not sure what I wanted to make, but I became excited when I saw sweet potatoes at the store. Once an easy ingredient to find, they are hard to come by now that I live in Connecticut, which is far from Georgia and the lovely south. Last year, when I still lived in Atlanta, I went to a restaurant that served sweet potato hash. It was a yummy dish, but I never thought to make it at home.  Until today, when glorious sweet potatoes were in my eye sight. Now, what do I put in my hash?  Thinking about it, I got the idea to add sweet Italian sausage after reading an article a few days earlier. So, what the heck, let’s create some hash!  The results were great, as I instantly loved this dish. Not only is it savory with a small hint of sweetness, but it is very filling.

Ingredients

2 lbs sweet potatoes
1 tsp salt, divided
1 lb fresh sweet Italian sausage
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 bunch of scallions, sliced
1 Tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp black pepper

Preparation

Scrub the sweet potatoes clean and rinse with cool water. Peel the potatoes. Cut off and discard any woody portions and ends. Cut into bite-size cubes.

Fill a large pot with just enough water to cover the potatoes.  Add 1/2 tsp salt to the water and bring to a boil.  Add potatoes. Cover the pot and cook potatoes for 15 minutes. Drain and set aside.

Heat a frying pan over medium heat and add the sausages. Cook for 8-10 minutes, turning occasionally until cooked through. Remove from the pan and set aside.

Add olive oil to the sausage fat in the pan and add potatoes. Cook over low heat for 5-8 minutes, turning occasionally.

Cut the sausages into bite size chunks and add to the pan.  Add the scallions to the pan and cook for a couple more minutes, until hot. Add brown sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, and pepper to the pan. Gently stir and serve.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe (14.5 ounces).
Calories 461.84

% Daily Value
Calories From Fat  117.07  25%
Total Fat 13.06g  20%
Saturated Fat  4.19g  21%

