Crock Pot Turkey Tacos

Turkey Tacos

Here in the tri-state area, we have been experiencing a heat wave of 100 degrees or higher everyday. This is far from normal for my home in CT and my daily commute to NYC for work.  The heat has become so unbearable that I have taken refuge in the house and become overly acquainted with my HDTVs and reading on my tablet.  Electronics have been getting me through the heat wave, so why not go a step further and avoid using the hot stove for cooking?  Enter the Crock Pot. Years ago I always thought using a Crock Pot was cheating when cooking, but when I received one for Christmas years ago from my cousin, my thoughts quickly changed.  The Crock Pot has been the answer to me avoiding long periods over a hot stove in this heat wave.  Enter fantastic, easy, Crock Pot Turkey Tacos!  I found this recipe in a book but modified it for greater flavor.  The results are a tasty, lighter taco, which can easily fool the beef eaters out there. My niece could not tell these had turkey and ate every bite. Perfect for the family, as the  flavor is great, but not spicy.  We served these with a side of low fat refried beans for a full, filling dinner.  Who knew healthier tacos could taste amazing and be easy to cook?!

Ingredients

1 lb lean ground turkey (85% Lean / 15% Fat)
1 medium onion, chopped
6 oz tomato paste
1/2 cup medium chunky salsa
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp oregano, dried
1 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp salt
8 taco shells, yellow corn
1 cup 2% cheddar cheese, shredded
1 cup lettuce, shredded

Preparation

Brown turkey and onion in a large skillet over medium heat, stirring to separate meat.  Combine turkey mixture, tomato paste, salsa, chili powder, cumin, oregano, red pepper flakes, and salt in Crock Pot. Cover and cook on low for 4 to 5 hours.

To serve, spoon 1/4 cup turkey mixture into each taco shell.  Top each taco with cheddar cheese and lettuce.

Nutrition Facts

Servings: 4 (2 tacos per serving)
Serving size: 1/4 of recipe
Calories 456
Total Fat 27g

